Pasta Fagioli

As I mentioned yesterday, I spent Sunday in the kitchen getting ready for a crazy week. My school’s location does not offer much in the way of lunch options so I am forced to plan ahead. Between some evening events at work and early morning workouts it is not rare for me to pack a full three meals worth of food into my handy lunch bag. My sister think’s it is completely dorky that I carry this around with me but my lunch bag is crucial and I don’t care what she says I love it. This brand also seems to be a favorite among the teachers, when you look into the faculty room fridge my bag is never lonely.

My office is quite chilly so my favorite make ahead lunch is without a question soup. Its a great way to warm up midday and it holds really well in transit. I make big batches of soup every couple of weekends throughout the winter and freeze them into smaller portions for lunch. I try and make a few different soups at a time so I don’t have to eat the same thing all week long and keep a nice rotation going. Today I worked some Pasta Fagioli into the mix. Yum! I will be staying nice and warm today with my soup hope you are enjoying your lunch too.

Pasta Fagioli Soup:

Adapted from Rachel Ray

2 tbspn olive oil

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 tsp dried thyme

2 dried bayleaves

1 medium onion chopped

1 medium carrot chopped

2 small ribs of celery, chopped

4 cloves of garlic

salt and pepper to taste

1 (16 oz) can cannelini beans

1 (16 oz) can red kidney beans

1 cup canned crushed tomatoes

2 cups water

1 quart chicken stock

1 1/2 cups pasta (ditalini or whatever you have in the cabinet today it was bowties)

Heat the olive oil in a dutch oven or soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions and sauté until softened then add the carrots, celery, herbs and garlic and continue to cook for another five minutes or so. Add salt, pepper, the beans, tomato sauce, water and stock. Allow the soup to come to simmer for 15 minutes or so. Bring the soup to a boil and then add the pasta, cook until al dente – timing dependent on the pasta. This soup in my opinion is better the next day after the flavors have a had a chance to mix and it freezes great!

4 thoughts on “Pasta Fagioli

  1. hi, i’m italian and i’ve got a little blog, “how a student can cook”, i suggest you use a smaller pasta… or something like “tagliatelle” that you can broke before use. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Baked Eggplant | SweetSugarLining

Leave a Reply

