Happy Margarita Day

So I have been informed that today is National Margarita Day..I have also discovered there is an entire website devoted to this holiday featuring a video with a muppet. Does life get any better? This website has officially combined three of my favorite things: margaritas, the muppets and guacamole (because it isn’t a margarita if you don’t have it with some guac). Add some chocolate and you would definitely have an award winning combo.

So of course I decided this special day should be honored, with some recipes. Everyone has a specific way they prefer their margaritas. When it comes to this delicious drink, I am a purist. I prefer the traditional (not flavored) on the rocks with salt. If it isn’t done this way it’s not a margarita in my book. I also don’t like my drinks sweet and they have to be strong! Strangely a shot of tequilla was the first alcohol I ever had – it was and still is a family favorite. While I may not be able to handle shots of tequila the same way I definitely enjoy Margarita Monday or margaritas on any day of the week!

Margarita’s My Way: makes a shaker full – perfect for sharing with friends

Shake together one cup of tequila (the good stuff not the cheap liquor or you are just asking for the hangover),  one cup of lime juice, one quarter cup cointreau (triple sec if you don’t have cointreau).

Use a slice of lime to moisten the rim of your glass before dipping it into salt on a plate.

Guacamole: since you can’t have a margarita without guacamole

I credit this recipe to the Barefoot Contessa one of my favorite go-to’s for basics

4 ripe avocados

1 small red onion (chopped)

1 garlic clove minced

1 plum tomato (seeded and chopped)

2 tablespoons lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

a few dashes of tabasco

Chop the onion and put it into a small bowl with the garlic. Cut the avocados in half and scoop the insides into the bowl. Immediately add the lemon juice, this will help stop the avocados from turning brown. Using a sharp knife slice the avocados in the bowl. Keep running the knife through the avocados until they are the consistency you like. I prefer my guacamole a little chunky. Add the tomatoes, hot sauce, salt and pepper and enjoy!

Happy Margarita day I hereby declare tomorrow National Hangover Day!

2 thoughts on “Happy Margarita Day

  1. Melis and I celebrated tonight with margaritas and were talking about the ones we made for my b-day… YUM! Happy Margarita Day!!!!

Leave a Reply

